My all Italian pre-birthday celebrations 

Villa Marcello bubbles and Gran Selezione excellence

 

My pre-birthday celebrations 🍰 included the delicious Villa Marcello Prosecco 2015 (these bubbles though!) and the outstanding Marchesi Mazzei Chianti Classico Gran Selezione 2011.

Quite possibly, this is my favourite wine I’ve tried this year!

So generous and plethoric. The nose is reminiscent of dried flowers, figs and prunes with notable hints of tobacco, leather and dark chocolate. It reminds me of my dad’s leather case where he kept his pipe tobacco. The 20 months in small French oak barrels have added a distinctive roundness and velvet quality to the mouthfeel. Just gorgeous. This is a blend of 50 wines (!!!), made from 120 single vineyards and 120 individual vinifications. A blend of 36 biotypes of Sangiovese, 18 of which exclusive to Castello di Fonterutoli. A result of 40 years of research.

The wine-geek in me is glowing.😊🍷

6 thoughts on “My all Italian pre-birthday celebrations 

Leave a Reply

